My guest for July 2015 is Tanya Huff, the author of the Blood Books, which were the basis for the television series Blood Ties, along with six other series and ten short story collections.

Ms. Huff based her vampire, Henry Fitzroy, on a fascinating historical event that touches my “I love it” button. Click here to find information about Henry Fitzroy, Duke of Somerset, Duke of Richmond, and Earl of Nottingham. The facts of his death and burial give interesting conjecture for the creation of a vampire legend.

Tanya Huff Interview – “Not in My City”

July 28, 2015



“Tanya Huff may have left Nova Scotia at three, and has lived most of her life since in Ontario, but she still considers herself a Maritimer. On the way to the idyllic rural existence she shares with her partner Fiona Patton, six cats, and a chihuahua, she acquired a degree in Radio and Television Arts from Ryerson Polytechnic—an education she was happy to finally use while writing her recent Smoke novels. Of her previous twenty-three books, the five—Blood Price, Blood Trail, Blood Lines, Blood Pact, Blood Debt—featuring Henry Fitzroy, bastard son of Henry VIII, romance writer, and vampire are among the most popular.”

* * *

Following three years in the Canadian Naval Reserve, a year studying forestry, a winter hanging around Universal Studios backlot, studies for a degree in radio and television arts and some time selling sunglasses off a pushcast after budget cuts led to a staff reduction at the CBC, she turned to writing in the mid-80s, and now resides in rural Ontario, a few hours from Toronto.

Beginning with the Novels of Crystal (CHILD OF THE GROVE and THE LAST WIZARD) in 1988 and 1989, Tanya’s written a diverse array of fantasies. These range from her highly popular “Blood” books (BLOOD PRICE, BLOOD TRAIL, etc.) which mix vampires, fantasy and romance and are the basis of the TV series Blood Ties which premiered on Lifetime in March 2007 and is to be shown worldwide. Other series by Huff include the Torin Kerr military sf novels, the Quarters novels, and humorous fantasies, The Keeper Chronicles.

Tanya’s life-long US publisher is DAW books, which moved her into hardcover in 2004 for her new “Smoke” series, a stand-alone spin-off from her enormously popular “Blood” series. Besides her DAW books, Tanya has written SCHOLAR OF DECAY, a novel set in TSR’s Ravenloft universe which was reissued in Fall 2007, and the short story collections, WHAT HO MAGIC, RELATIVE MAGIC and STEALING MAGIC. She has garnered foreign sales in France, Germany, Japan, Poland, Russia and Spain, and in the US alone over 1,200,000 copies of her work are in print.

 From Jabberwocky Literary Agency

Books by Tanya Huff

Tanya Huff has written a LOT of books. I tend to be flowery in my speech, but this once I am going to be quite direct. I was overwhelmed by the sheer quantity and I can not possibly list then on this page. So, I have prepared a separate page, just for them.

Interviews with Tanya Huff

Strange Horizons
What Little Girls Are Made Of
December 23, 2002

A Working Title
November 16, 2009

Michael A. Ventrella
April 26, 2010

October 26, 2011

Toasted Cheese
Tell the Stories You Have to Tell
October 15, 2013

Geek NativeSex elves and AD&DFebruary 4, 2014

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *